top of page

Spending time with the One who made it.


“Read your Bible pray every day, pray every day, pray every day! Read your Bible pray everyday day and you will grow, grow, GROW!”

Most of us know this Sunday school song. And most of us can sing it & know every word. The words are simple and easy. You may even get this song stuck in your head after reading it.

But how often do we actually follow what this song says? How often do we actually read our Bibles & pray every day?

I know for me; the answer is not often enough.

I get busy and I get distracted. And yet sometimes I get so distracted living for the Creator that I forget to spend time with Him altogether.

I know it’s so easy to let our lives carry us away. And sometimes when we are constantly serving or pouring out, we forget that we need to be filled up in order to serve and pour out to the best of our abilities.

Spending time with the Lord is essential to a well-watered soul.

Time without God is like a rainforest plant trying to survive in the desert. Dried out & crumbling at the seams.

There is no water for the plant to grow. No water for it to thrive. No water for the plant to be alive.

This is so similar to our time with The Lord. If we don’t have it, we dry up and slowly wither away at the seams.

When we aren’t spending time with Jesus, lies come and begin invest us.

Time with The Lord doesn’t have to look a certain way. There is no how-to formula on how you and Jesus connect and communicate.

I so often find myself comparing other people’s quiet times to my own. I allow the lie to root in me that I am doing it wrong.

II am a very habitual person and I like to plan things out and stick to them.

Often times, my time with God looks that way too. I find myself planning out how I will spend my time with Him today. Will it be good enough? Will it be okay?

And yet the reality of it all is, there is no right way.

Time with God is always time well spent.

Whether that is listening to worship music in your bedroom & praising Him.

Or doodling bible verses to remind yourself of His truth.

From reading His word to journaling your thoughts and prayers…

Time with God is time well spent.

I am the #1 contender for feeling like I don’t have enough time to spend with God. That my “schedule wouldn’t allow it” (Grinch reference).

But you know what is so funny about that statement? It’s the biggest lie there is.

Really.

If God created time and He is outside of our time, don’t you think that He would and can help you in making time?

Think about that? Have you ever sat through something that just seemed as though the clock was going so slow and it felt as if time was not moving at all?

What if that was the way our time with God was?

Not in the way of us wishing for the time to just go faster so that we could be done with it already.

But in a way of time slowing down, allowing us to take a moment catch our breath and be watered and filled up by our Creator.

If we worried less about how much time we had left vs how much time we HAVE, our lives would look a whole lot different.

Now say it with me...

TIME WITH GOD IS TIME WELL SPENT.

If He created time, He can help you make time for Him.

All He wants is for you to know Him more. To see His plans for you are nothing but good and perfect.

He wants to show you all He has for you and all the love He wants to give you.

He meets you in every moment, at any place, at any time.

He cares for you. He knows all you have to do. He helps you through your day and loves you as you go about it.

He desires to spend intentional time with you because He loves you.

You are a beloved daughter.

You are a beloved son.

Lean into Him.

Spend time with Him.

And feel His peace carry you through.

All my love,

Sarah

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page